The SBA holds annual awards for the Small of the Year that celebrates excellence in this vibrant and growing sector of the liquor industry.

All small bars licences are eligible for the awards.

2019 will be the sixth annual awards and will be judged as follows;,

  • The voting system draws upon the knowledge of those who work in the industry and includes an element of peer ranking. All holders of eligible licences (one vote per licence/venue) will be asked to nominate their six top venues. These votes are tallied and a short list of finalists will be identified.
  • The finalists are then assessed in two ways; by a judging panel and by the public, creating five awards,
    • The Critics’ Choice Award
    • The People’s Choice Award
    • Best Regional Bar Award
    • Smells Like a Small Bar Award
    • The Best New Small Bar Award
  • Licensees are also asked to nominate their favourite new bar (one that has opened in the previous twelve months) and a venue across our state that doesn’t hold a small bar licence but act like one in terms of absence, decor and general ethos. These are tallied into a short list of finalists.
  • The public are then asked to vote on a shortlist and award,
    • The People’s Choice Award
    • Best Regional Bar Award
    • Smells Like a Small Bar Award
    • The Best New Small Bar Award

The Critics’ Choice Award is selected by a panel of no less than five people who all have their own interests in and knowledge of the food and beverage industry in WA.

In the past these judges have included,

  • Sam Bygrave – Editor of Australian Bartender, Australia’s leading bar industry magazine.
  • Fleur Bainger –Features and Food writer, STM Magazine. Contributing Journalist to Australian Traveller, The Sydney Morning Herald, The Age and many others.
  • Tessa Gallagher – Editor, The Urban List, The leading go-to guide to everything worth tasting, trying booking and buying in Perth.
  • Max Veenhuyzen – Food and Wine writer for Australian Gourmet Traveller, The Sunday Times and Qantas, The Australian Way Magazine.
  • Max Brearley – Food and Beverage writer for Delicious, Halliday and The Australian.

The 2019 awards event will be held on Monday the 10th of June at The Standard, 28 Roe St, Northbridge from 7pm.

Public Voting opens soon.

Check back here or on our Facebook page for regular updates.